Sierra Leone visa on arrival fee Online

Nationals of the following countries are not charged for visa on arrival as there is a reciprocal agreement with these countries not to charge each other for entry visas:

Sierra Leone visa valid period

Sierra Leone visa: It is valid for ONLY for one month but can be extended at the immigration department once in-country. And It allows ONLY ONE entry into the country, meaning that it cannot be used to leave and re-enter the country.

Sierra Leone visa on arrival grant

Sierra Leone Visa on arrival is only granted at the point of entry before the passenger proceed to immigration control.

It can be granted at any of the three major entry points into the country and these are:

  • Freetown International Airport, Lungi
  • Jendema – the crossing point from Liberia into Sierra Leone
  • Gbalamuya – the crossing point from Guinea into Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone visa exemption policy

Citizens of the following 15 countries can visit Sierra Leone without a visa:

Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, and Togo

    Sierra Leone visa policy

    It applies ONLY to visitors whether that is for tourism, business, religion, and academic or ordinary visit to see family and friends. It DOES NOT apply to people traveling to the country for other reasons like taking up employment, education, dependents, diplomats, etc. Where someone is traveling to the country for any of these reasons, they need to apply for a visa at the nearest Sierra Leone embassy/High Commission before undertaken such travel.

    Sierra Leone visa extensions

    On entry into the country, visitors are normally granted a period of one month ONLY but this can be extended at the immigration department on the approval of the Chief Immigration Officer for one of the following reasons.

    • Searching for business opportunities
    • Staying for a further period as visitors/tourist

African Union countries (fee – $25):

  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • DR Congo
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Gabon
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Rwanda,
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Western Sahara
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Non – Africa Union countries (fee – $80):

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • China
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • East Timor
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Grenadines
  • Guyana
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Nauru
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • Turkey
  • Tuvalu
  • United Arab Emirate (UAE)
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam

Nationals of the following countries are not charged for visa on arrival as there is a reciprocal agreement with these countries not to charge each other for entry visas:

  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • Eswatini (formally Swaziland)
  • Fiji
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • St Kitts and Nevis

Re-Entry Visa

This visa is issued at the departments in Freetown to non-citizens who regularly visits the country. It is issued for a specific period (up to a year) and enable holders to travel as many times as they want during this period.

Landing Visa Payment Exemption

This applies to staff of foreign Embassies/High Commission and international organisations including UN Agencies in Sierra Leone. It also applies to workers/personnel on contractual agreements with the Government of Sierra Leone. An exemption can further be acquired where there are a parliamentary or cabinet directives to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to extend it to a specific group.

However, for applicants to be exempted from paying a visa fee, they would write to the Director-General of Foreign Affairs who would, in turn, write to the Chief Immigration Officer for the acquisition of such exemption.

Angola Port Of Entry

  • Quatro de Fevereiro Airport.

    Quatro de Fevereiro Airport, is the main international airport of Angola. All visitors to Angola need a valid passport Read More

  • Luau border

    Luau Border (on Angola's eastern border with the DRC). All visitors to Angola need a valid passport. Luau border

  • Katwitwi border.

    Katuitui Border (marked at Katwitwi on Google Maps, on Angola's southern border with Namibia near Savate)

Stay safe!

Reach us Support africatourvisa

Get in touch on