Tanzanian shilling/Currency

tanzanian-shilling tanzanian-shilling

The Tanzanian shilling (TZS) is the official currency for United Republic of Tanzania located in eastern Africa. TZS is issued and managed by the Central Bank of Tanzania or in Swahili, the Benki Kuu Ya Tanzania. As of December 4, 2020, 1 U.S. dollar is equal to 2,319 TZS. or The shilingi (Swahili; English: shilling; sign: TSh; code: TZS) is the currency of Tanzania. It is subdivided into 100 senti (cents in English). The Tanzanian shilling replaced the East African shilling on 14 June 1966 at par. Check currency converter update xe.com

Tanzanian shilling Symbol

Amount in the Tanzanian shilingi is written in the form of x/y, where x is the amount above 1 shiling, while y is the amount in senti. An equals sign or hyphen represents zero amount. For example, 50 senti is written as "=/50" or "-/50", while 100 shilingi is written as "100/=" or "100/-". In common, daily use, the symbol TSh is used.

This pattern echos the notation in Britain before decimalisation, when amounts were written in some combination of pounds (£), shillings (s), and pence (d, for denarius). In that notation, amounts under a pound were notated only in shillings and pence: sixpence was written "-/6" or "-/6d", 2 shillings as "2/-" or "2s/-", 2 shillings and 6 pence as "2/6" or "2/6d", and so forth.

The Tanzanian shilling Coins

In 1966, coins were introduced in denominations of 5, 20 and 50 senti and 1 shilingi, with the 5 senti struck in bronze, the 20 senti in nickel-brass (copper-nickel-zinc) and the 50 senti and 1 shillingi in cupro-nickel. Cupro-nickel 5 shilingi coins were introduced in 1972, followed by scalloped, nickel-brass 10 senti in 1977. This First Series coins set, in circulation from 1966 up to 1984, was designed by Christopher Ironside OBE.

In 1987, nickel-plated steel replaced cupro-nickel in the 50 senti and 1 shilingi, and cupro-nickel 5 and 10 shilingi coins were introduced, with the 5 shilingi decagonal in shape. In 1990, nickel-clad-steel 5, 10 and 20 shilingi were introduced, followed by brass-plated steel coins for 100 shilingi in 1993, 50 shilingi in 1996 and copper-nickel-zinc 200 shilingi in 1998.

Coins currently in circulation are the 50, 100 and 200 shilingi. A 500 shilingi coin was issued on 8 September 2014.

Tanzanian shilling/Currency Banknotes

On 14 June 1966, the Benki Kuu Ya Tanzania (Bank of Tanzania) introduced notes for 5, 10, 20 and 100 shillingi (also denominated in shillings on the first series of notes). The 5 shillingi note was replaced by a coin in 1972. 50 shillingi notes were introduced in 1985, followed by 200 shilingi in 1986, 500 shillingi in 1989 and 1000 shillingi in 1990. The 10, 20, 50 and 100 shillingi notes were replaced by coins in 1987, 1990, 1996 and 1994, respectively. 5000 and 10,000 shillingi notes were introduced in 1995, followed by 2000 shilingi in 2003. A new series of notes came out in 2011. These new notes include many security features that prevent counterfeiting.

Tanzanian shilling Banknotes

Banknotes in circulation today are 500, 1000, 2000, 5000 and 10,000 shilingi.


These rates are obtained from xe.com and may contradict with pegged rate mentioned above xe.com

Stay safe!

Reach us Support Africatourvisa

Get in touch on